Double pole position for Reeve on Clio Cup Junior debut at Silverstone

Nick Reeve has got his Renault UK Clio Cup Junior career off to the dream start by qualifying on pole position for both the championship’s opening rounds of 2018 at Silverstone.
  • Reeve_01.jpg
  • Burton_01.jpg
  • Doyle_01.jpg (1)

Reeve, driving for the Specialized Motorsport team which is also new to the category, mastered a wet track in Saturday’s 20 minute session to set a best lap time of one minute, 13.448 seconds – good enough for pole for the first of the two races on Sunday.

Pyro Motorsport’s Gus Burton was second fastest ahead of JamSport’s Louis Doyle and Pyro’s Lorcan Hanafin – the trio covered by just 0.121s. Jamie-Lea Hawley was fifth fastest on her debut for another new team, Finsport.

When it came to second fastest times that determine race two’s grid, Reeve did it again with a lap in 1m13.556s to make it two poles out of two.

However the order behind was different with Doyle this time in second ahead of Hanafin, Burton and Hawley.

An elated Reeve said: “It’s amazing – I couldn’t be happier!

“I was still learning the car a bit in the morning’s free practice session but it all came together in qualifying – I had some great help from Simon Horrobin (team principal) and Dave Hayes (team manager for Matrix Motorsport in the senior Clio Cup) in putting together a very well sorted car.

“Tomorrow could be interesting, particularly as the weather forecast is for it to be dry. It’ll also be my first race starts in a Clio!

“The qualifying times are close between us so I expect the two races to be fun but also pretty tight.”

Sunday's two races, both 20 minutes in duration, are scheduled to take place at 11:45 and 16:10.

Qualifying: Round 1, Renault UK Clio Cup Junior, Silverstone
1. Nick Reeve (Specialized Motorsport), 1m13.448s
2. Gus Burton (Pyro Motorsport), +0.439s
3. Louis Doyle (JamSport Racing), +0.470s
4. Lorcan Hanafin (Pyro Motorsport), +0.560s
5. Jamie-Lea Hawley (Finsport), +1.287s

Qualifying: Round 2, Renault UK Clio Cup Junior, Silverstone
1. Nick Reeve (Specialized Motorsport), 1m13.556s
2. Louis Doyle (JamSport Racing), +0.375s
3. Lorcan Hanafin (Pyro Motorsport), +0.572s
4. Gus Burton (Pyro Motorsport), +0.633s
5. Jamie-Lea Hawley (Finsport), +1.194s