Coates declared winner of Donington race 2 after Pattison-Rivett collision

Max Coates has taken victory in Donington Park’s second Renault UK Clio Cup race to add to his win from race one – but again his success came in unusual circumstances.
  • Coates-06.jpg (1)
  • Coates-02.jpg (1)
  • Rowbottom-02.jpg (2)

The race was stopped after ten of the scheduled 14 laps after the WDE Motorsport cars of Lee Pattison and Paul Rivett collided and went off the track together while running in first and second positions.

By now all the drivers were having to cope with treacherously damp conditions after rain had started fall mid-way through the race.

This was during a safety car period – required to retrieve the cars of Team Pyro’s Ollie Pidgley and PP Motorsport/Westbourne’s James Colburn which had stopped in a gravel trap exiting the Old Haiprin. Colburn’s ended up on its side as it dug into the gravel…

The race resumed on lap ten but at Coppice Corner Rivett appeared to lock a front tyre and slither into the back of Pattison. Both went off into the gravel trap as Ciceley Motorsports Coates and Team Pyro’s Mike Bushell went by followed by the rest of the field.

But almost immediately the decision was made to stop the race. Coates was declared the winner ahead of Bushell and DRM’s Daniel Rowbottom – taking his first UK Clio Cup podium in third place. Rowbottom also set a new race lap record for two bonus points.

WDE’s Dan Zelos was fourth ahead of Pyro team-mates Jack McCarthy and Nathan Harrison. Westbourne’s James Dorlin was seventh and Pyro’s Ash Hand a recovering eighth having been shuffled some way down the order at one stage. Ciceley’s Sam Osborne and Pyro’s Kyle Hornby completed the top ten.

Ciceley’s Jade Edwards was 11th having started 23rd (her best result to date). JamSport’s Aaron Thompson was 12th ahead of a trio of Westbourne drivers, namely Oscar Rovelli, Ambrogio Perfetti and Myles Collins who had recovered from a wild off track moment earlier in the race. JamSport’s Graham Field was classified 16th, WDE’s Paul Streather and STR’s Shawn Taylor 19th, a lap behind after spending some time off the track with a spin.

In addition to Pattison, Rivett, Colburn and Pidgley, Ciceley’s Luke Reade also retired from the race.

CLICK HERE for the full result.