Huge ticket draw for R.S owners to see UK Clio Cup/British Touring Car finale

The 2016 Renault UK Clio Cup title race looks to be coming down to a four-way fight with 180 free tickets having been made available for Renault Sport car owners to see the eventual Champion crowned at Brands Hatch in early October.
  • ClioCup tickets (2).jpg
  • ClioCup tickets (3).jpg
  • ClioCup tickets (4).jpg

Just four races remain with Team Pyro’s Mike Bushell, JamSport’s Ant Whorton-Eales, WDE Motorsport’s Paul Rivett and Ciceley Motorsport’s Max Coates emerging as the main protagonists following Rockingham’s latest rounds.

Even by UK Clio Cup standards the action there was nothing short of spectacular as a typhoon swept in and forced the final laps of one race to be held in near total darkness! Whorton-Eales’s wet weather mastery shone through as he won that race from tenth on the grid.  Bushell struck back the following day, though, with victory in race two ahead of Rivett and Coates.

It all means that Bushell continues to lead the standings overall from Whorton-Eales with Coates and Rivett closely matched in third and fourth and very much still in touch. Significantly when the all-important two-dropped-scores rule is applied (each driver must discard his or her two worst results when totting up their end-of-season total) Bushell and Whorton-Eales are actually tying for the championship lead…

CLICK HERE for latest video action.

CLICK HERE for the latest news and build-up…

The next two races are at the British F1 venue of Silverstone (Sat 17/Sun 18 Sept) and then come the final two rounds – around the legendary Brands Hatch Grand Prix circuit (Sat 1/Sun 2 October). Those races will see the new 2016 Champion crowned and also the British Touring Car Championship title race decided.

As part of a national ‘meet’, 90 Renault Sport owners will be parking their pride and joy in a dedicated parking area, courtesy of Renault Sport UK having entered a draw to win 180 tickets.

Meanwhile the UK Clio Cup has announced its 2017 race calendar. As in 2016 it will comprise 18 rounds – two each at nine of the BTCC’s events. The dates are:

Rounds                 Date                                                      Circuit
1&2                        Sat 1/Sun 2 April                               Brands Hatch (Indy), Kent
3&4                        Sat 16/Sun 17 April                          Donington Park, Leicestershire
5&6                        Sat 6/Sun 7 May                               Thruxton, Hampshire
7&8                        Sat 20/Sun 21 May                           Oulton Park, Cheshire
9&10                      Sat 10/Sun 11 June                          Croft, North Yorkshire
11&12                   Sat 29/Sun 30 July                            Snetterton, Norfolk
13&14                   Sat 26/Sun 27 August                     Rockingham, Northamptonshire
15&16                   Sat 16/Sun 17 September             Silverstone, Northamptonshire
17&18                   Sat 30 Sept/Sun 1 Oct                     Brands Hatch (Grand Prix), Kent