As well as being embroiled in a thrilling battle for 2015’s Renault UK Clio Cup crown, Ash Hand is – just – still in with a chance of setting a new championship record for the most wins in season.
  • Hand-07.jpg
  • Hand-1 (2).jpg

Team Pyro’s Hand has won five out of ten races so far in 2015 and is just five points behind SV Racing’s Ant Whorton-Eales at the top of the table.

He is actually ahead 243-232 when the two dropped scores rule is considered (although it doesn’t take effect until the season finale).

Eight rounds remain with two races apiece at Knockhill, Rockingham, Silverstone and Brands Hatch GP.

Hand would have to win seven of those just to match Dave Newsham’s 2010 record of 12 races in a season and all eight to beat it.

He said: “It’s a big ask but I’m going for it – I love the challenge. I feel I’m capable of doing it and I’ve been winning lots lately which is all I’m focusing on doing. And it’s Knockhill next up where I set a new lap record last year.”

In 2010 Newsham had won eight of the opening ten races. Other big winners include 2009 and 2005 champions Phil Glew and Jonathan Adam – each with 11 wins in total after achieving seven and five victories respectively from the first ten races in their title-winning years.

Tom Onslow-Cole lifted the crown in 2006 with ten wins and Ben Winrow the title in 2008 with nine victories having triumphed six and five times respectively from their first ten races.