Dear Renault Sport Fan!

We’re writing to inform you that we will be moving all our Renault Sport cars and motorsport content on the renaultsport.co.uk across to our main website, renault.co.uk, on 31 March 2020. From then on, you’ll be able to find all things Renault in one place.

The Forum and Ask The Expert features will not move across to the new website. These have been popular destinations for Renault Sport fans over the years and we are proud to have been a leader in terms of providing ways for our most passionate customers to discuss all things Renault Sport – with us and with each other. The growth in social media in recent years has provided multiple new ways for fans to share and discuss all things R.S. and we would love to hear from you on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Should you have any queries about your Renault vehicle, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thank you.

The Renault UK Website Team


It’s official! Renault returns to Formula 1 with own team

After months of speculation and media gossip, Renault has officially confirmed its return as a full factory team to the Formula 1 grid in 2016 after a successful buy-out of the Lotus outfit.
  • F1 Renault returns with own team (2).jpg

The news will be music to the ears of Renaultsport fans who have not had an F1 team to cheer since 2011.

However they will have to wait until an event in Paris next month to learn of the full team name, management structure and other details. The new F1 season begins in Australia on 20 March.

This year will mark the third time that Renault has entered F1 with its own equipe.

Its first team ran from 1977 to 1985 and between 1979 and 1983 it won 15 grands prix as a constructor with French drivers Jean-Pierre Jabouille, Alain Prost and Réne Arnoux. Typically during that period Renault was right at the forefront of pioneering technologies in F1 having had the nerve on its debut (Silverstone ’77) to become the first manufacturer to bring turbo-charging into the sport.

Not until 2002 did Renault return to F1 as a constructor but it was soon back to winning ways, most notably with back-to-back F1 world titles for Spain’s Fernando Alonso in its cars in 2005 and 2006. Italians Jarno Trulli and Giancarlo Fisichella would add to Renault’s tally of 20 GP victories during this second spell in F1 before time was called on the team in 2011.

Renault’s grand prix victories in F1 to date as a team therefore total 32. While the clock counts down to February’s event in Paris, here the who, what, where and when of Renault’s F1 winners:

Year    GP / Circuit                           Driver                                        Car Model
1979   France / Dijon                         Jean-Pierre Jabouille                      RS10
1980   Brazil / Interlagos                   Réne Arnoux                                  RE20
1980   Argentina / Buenos Aires         Réne Arnoux                                  RE20
1980   Germany/Hockenheim             Jean-Pierre Jabouille                       RE20
1981   France / Dijon                         Alain Prost                                     RE30
1981   Holland / Zandvoort                 Alain Prost                                    RE30
1981   Italy / Monza                           Alain Prost                                    RE30
1982   South Africa / Kyalami             Alain Prost                                    RE30B
1982   Brazil / Japaragua                   Alain Prost                                    RE30B
1982   France / Paul Ricard                Réne Arnoux                                 RE30B
1982   Italy / Monza                          Réne Arnoux                                 RE30B
1983   France / Paul Ricard                Alain Prost                                     RE40
1983   Belgium / Spa-F’champs          Alain Prost                                     RE40
1983   Britain / Silverstone                Alain Prost                                     RE40
1983   Austria / Osterreichring           Alain Prost                                     RE40
2003   Hungary / Hungaroring            Fernando Alonso                             RS23
2004   Monaco / Monte Carlo              Jarno Trulli                                     RS24
2005   Australia / Melbourne              Giancarlo Fiscichella                        RS25
2005   Malaysia / Sepang                  Fernando Alonso                             RS25
2005   Bahrain / Sakhir                     Fernando Alonso                             RS25
2005   San Marino / Imola                 Fernando Alonso                             RS25
2005   European / Nurburgring           Fernando Alonso                             RS25
2005   France / Magny-Cours             Fernando Alonso                             RS25
2005   Germany / Hockenheim           Fernando Alonso                             RS25
2005   Turkey / Istanbul                    Fernando Alonso                             RS25
2005   China / Shanghai                    Fernando Alonso                             RS25
2006   Bahrain / Sakhir                     Fernando Alonso                             RS26
2006   Australia / Melbourne              Fernando Alonso                             RS26
2006   Spain / Barcelona                   Fernando Alonso                             RS26
2006   Monaco / Monte Carlo             Fernando Alonso                             RS26
2006   Britain / Silverstone               Fernando Alonso                             RS26
2006   Canada / Montreal                 Fernando Alonso                             RS26
2006   Japan / Suzuka                     Fernando Alonso                             RS26
2008   Singapore / Marina Bay         Fernando Alonso                             RS28
2008   Japan / Fuji                          Fernando Alonso                             RS28