New chapter for Formula Renault Eurocup

Renault Sport’s long established international single seater racing category, the Formula Renault Eurocup, will upgrade to a new specification of car in 2019 – using an engine derived from the new Mégane R.S. power plant.
  • FNew FRenault 02.jpg
  • New FRenault 03.jpg

The 1.8 litre engine will produce between 270 and 300hp and be mated to Italian manufacturer Tatuus’s F.3 T-318 chassis.

The cars, all identical, will also incorporate Formula 1 type ‘halo’ cockpit protection (pictured).

Overall more powerful and more efficient, this new-look Formula Renault will also contribute to world motor sport governing body the FIA’s motor racing pyramid, while better preparing drivers for the next level. The Champion will also have the opportunity to join Renault Sport Racing Academy for emerging racing stars.

Next year will mark the Eurocup’s 49th season since it first launched in 1971. In the time since it is understood to have helped develop more than two out of three F1 drivers. Also pictured is the out-going spec of car – seen in action at Barcelona’s final rounds of 2018 in which Briton Max Fewtrell lifted the title (CLICK HERE TO READ)

For 2019 a 20-round calendar has been announced with at least eight current F1 circuits being used. The ‘blue riband’ event will be the two rounds supporting the Monaco F1 Grand Prix on the world famous Monte Carlo street circuit.

Benoît Nogier, Renault Sport Racing Commercial Racing Director said: “Since 1971, Formula Renault has always been one of the leading benchmarks in the feeder series.

“With our vast experience and the introduction of this new, fast and affordable car, the most ambitious and talented drivers of their generation can continue their learning process in a relevant and renowned category.

“The Formula Renault Eurocup has the foundations, know-how and strengths needed to complete this transition. We are already eager to see what the future holds!”

Calendar: 2019 Formula Renault Eurocup

12-14 April, Autodromo di Monza, Italy

10-12 May, Silverstone, Great Britain

23-26 May, Monaco

31 May-2 June, Circuit Paul Ricard, France

12-14 July, Red Bull Ring, Austria

26-28 July, Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium

30 August-1 September, Nürburgring, Germany

6-8 September, Hungaroring, Hungary

27-29 September, Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Spain

October TBA