French capital Paris has been added to the FIA Formula E Championship for its 2015/16 season with London again having been chosen to host the title-deciding final two rounds.
  • Formula E 1.jpg
  • Formula E.jpg

‘Season two’ will start in Beijing, China on 17 October ahead of other ‘fly-away’ races in Malaysia, Uruguay, Argentina and the USA.

The location for one race (on 19 March) has still to be confirmed, while Paris will host the opening European round of the calendar on 23 April 2016 on a circuit designed around the city’s architectural complex of Les Invalides.

London’s dates have yet to be confirmed although the total number of races is being kept at 11.

Formula E, for identical all-electric racing single-seaters, has become a global phenomenon in the past 12 months with its high-profile ePrix races held on bespoke tracks in prominent capital cities and other destinations around the world.

Renault’s expertise in electric vehicles made it a perfect technical partner to Formula E during the 2014/15 season. Renault recently confirmed it will develop a powertrain for the e.dams team – run by four-time Formula 1 World Champion Alain Prost – for season two.

“We are pleased to confirm that the second season will again feature 11 ePrix,” commented Alejandro Agag, CEO of Formula E. “It’s an important sign of stability and it consolidates the presence of the championship in the panoply of major global motor sport events run under the aegis of the FIA.

“Over the past few months, we have received many indications of interest from numerous cities from all over the world, which is another confirmation of the extraordinary reception that Formula E has received all over the world during its first season,” added Agag. “We have chosen to keep the number of races the same, with the aim of planting even more solid roots in the cities which trusted in us right from the start.

We have added one of the world’s most important capitals and an amazing city, Paris, which will be one of the highlights of the season. As for the location of the fifth round, the one on 19 March… we are working to maintain the same geographic allocation of races: the aim is to have a fourth ePrix on the American continent.”

Race Dates: 2015/16 FIA Formula E Championship (provisional)

17 October                    Beijing, China

7 November                  Putrajaya, Malaysia

19 December                Punte del Este, Uruguay

4 February                    Buenos Aires, Argentina

19 March                      To be announced

2 April                          Long Beach, USA

23 April                        Paris, France

21 May                         Berlin, Germany

4 June                         Moscow, Russia

To be announced          London, UK (two races)