Renault e.dams soon to start defence of Formula E titles

The Renault e.dams team’s defence of its FIA Formula E crowns has begun with official testing taking place prior to the start of the new 2016-17 season which begins on a new street circuit in Hong Kong next month (9 October).
  • Formula E (3).jpg
  • Formula E (1).jpg

Its Swiss driver Sebastien Buemi took the drivers’ title and Renault e.dams itself a second straight teams’ trophy in the 2015-16 season finale in London in July.

But already the race is on to make even more gains from the Renault Sport-developed drivetrain that so far has proved to be the class of the field in the all-electric racing championship which has now attracted more automotive manufacturers – all eager to showcase their electric technologies.

Initial testing at Donington Park saw Buemi set the pace while team-mate Nicolas Prost also turned in highly competitive lap times.

At the time of writing, however, more testing was under way at Donington with the new Techeetah team – its car also using Renault Sport’s drivetrain – going even faster.

For the new season Formula E has introduced a new-look ‘high brow’ front wing to all cars which has received a thumbs-up for Buemi.

He said: “I like the look of the new front wing - it looks a little bit more futuristic, and from inside the car you can see the top part of the wing, so visually for the driver there is also a small change. We want Formula E to look different and be different, and the new wing is a good way of showing that. I don’t think it will make too big of an impact on aero which isn’t in the ethos of this championship –but it’s a good way to show visual development heading to Hong Kong for the start of season three.”

Four of the FIA Formula E Championship’s 2016/17 season will include four new cities – Hong Kong, Marrakesh, Brussels, Montreal and New York.

Race dates: Season 3, FIA Formula E Championship

Round   Date                                      Venue
1              9 October                            Hong Kong (HKG)
2              12 November                    Marrakesh (MAR)
3              18 February                        Buenos Aires (ARG)
4              1 April                                   Mexico City (MEX)
5              TBA                                        TBA
6              13 May                                 Monte Carlo (MCO)
7              20 May                                 Paris (FRA)
8              10 June                                 Berlin (GER)
9              TBA                                        TBA
10           1 July                                     Brussels (BEL)
11           15 July                                   Montreal (CAN)
12           16 July                                   Montreal (CAN)
13           29 July                                   New York (USA)
14           30 July                                   New York (USA)