Renault e.dams wins third Formula E teams’ title in a row

Renault e.dams has won a third consecutive FIA Formula E teams’ title after wrapping up the crown in the 2016/17 season finale in Canada.
  • FormulaE_NicoProst_Canada.jpg
  • FormulaE_team.jpg
  • FormulaE_Buemi_Canada_02.jpg

The team, using Renault Sport’s world-beating electric car know-how – particularly in drivetrain technology – experienced a disappointing two races in the big Montreal finale but still ran out the winner by 20 points from its main rival, the ABT Shaeffler Audi Sport squad.

During the season its lead driver Sebastien Buemi took six wins and led more laps than anyone else despite only contesting ten of the 12 races due to clashing racing commitments elsewhere. His 181 points were added to by 91 for team-mate Nicolas Prost which, combined gave Renault e.dams a total of 268.

It seemed cruel that Buemi missed out on a second straight drivers’ title – especially considering that eight rounds into the season he had built up a mammoth 41-point lead at the head of the table. However missing those two races (rounds nine and ten) and then, unthinkably, suddenly suffering non-scores in Montreal meant he was unable to add to his 2015/16 crown…

Certainly he and the Renault e.dams car was the class of the field yet again in the world’s premiere electric car racing championship. While he won an unrivalled six times, no-one else managed more than two victories.

Notably victory in the season’s final round in Montreal was taken by Techeetah team driver Jean-Eric Vergne – using a powertrain supplied by Renault e.dams.

Jérôme Stoll, President of Renault Sport Racing, commented: “When Renault entered Formula E in the beginning, it was always to win and to innovate. To win three titles in three seasons is incredible.

“I would like to congratulate the whole team for their hard work over the season. Every year, the level gets higher but Renault, thanks to their skills in electric technologies, remains more than ever the leader of the Formula E championship. We will be back next season to fight hard, to retain our title and to try to win both titles again.”

Four-time Formula 1 World Champion Alain Prost, who is now a co-owner of Renault e.dams, said: “I would like to congratulate Jean-Eric Vergne for his first victory in Formula E, as well as the other drivers, and also Lucas Di Grassi on winning the drivers’ championship. We thought we could win both titles today but it was not possible.

“The championship is getting more and more competitive at the highest level. We are very happy to win the teams’ championship for a third consecutive year. I would like to thank our partners for their support, in particular Renault. We will be back next year, for more success hopefully.”