Dorlin continues winning streak with fifth straight win in Oulton Park race one

James Dorlin made it five wins in a row with a comfortable victory in the first of the Renault UK Clio Cup’s two races at Oulton Park as nearest title rivals Paul Rivett and Max Coates completed the podium.
  • Dorlin-05.jpg
  • Rivett.jpg (22)
  • Zelos.jpg (7)

Dorlin, who started from pole position, led all the way to win by nearly five seconds. He also collected the bonus points for setting the fastest lap and leading for a maximum score of 28. It means he has now edged ten points clear of Coates at the top of the table (CLICK HERE for overnight standings).

“When I saw the others tripping up over each other in my mirrors I knew it was my chance to escape so banged in qualifying style laps to build a lead. After that it was relatively straight forward…” explained Westbourne Motorsport’s Dorlin.

Dorlin has now joined an exclusive club of only three drivers to have achieved five consecutive victories in the Clio Cup – the others being Phil Glew in 2009 and Jonny Adam whose record of six on the bounce set in 2005 Dorlin can match in tomorrow’s race.

Second place for WDE Motorsport’s Rivett today was reward for a race long defence of the position from a long queue of cars behind that was headed by Team Pyro’s Coates.

In fact positions second to seventh at the end were the same has they had been on the opening lap with no driver able to break the deadlock. Behind Rivett and Coates, Lee Pattison (WDE) took fourth closely followed by James Colburn (Westbourne), Dan Zelos (WDE) and Daniel Rowbottom (Pyro).

Tagging onto the back of this queue were Matrix Motorsport’s Michael Epps and Pyro’s Bradley Burns in eighth and ninth. Epps only made eighth his on the final lap thanks to a fine move that started at Knickerbook and ended at Druids…

Significantly the result up front has had an effect on the Entrants Trophy with both WDE and Westbourne edging closer to leader Pyro which leads the standings.

A deserved tenth was Jade Edwards. She lost ground after her MRM car was almost spun around at Knickerbook on the opening lap but she clawed back places to finish right behind WDE’s Sam Osborne at the line. He was then handed a five second penalty for exceeding track limits which dropped him to 12th behind Edwards and Pyro’s Zak Fulk.

Matrix’s Andy Wilmot, WDE’s Nicolas Hamilton and, scoring his first point in the championship, BLG’s Luke Warr completed the top 15. Matrix pair Jeff Alden and Aaron Thompson were a distance 16th and 17th after early dramas while Pyro’s Jack McCarthy retired with a hobbled car.

Provisional result, Round 7, Oulton Park:
1. James Dorlin (Westbourne Motorsport), 12 laps in 19m05.584s (avg. 83.94mph)
2. Paul Rivett (WDE Motorsport), +4.962s
3. Max Coates (Team Pyro), +5.402s
4. Lee Pattison (WDE Motorsport), +5.790s
5. James Colburn (Westbourne Motorsport), +6.662s
6. Dan Zelos (WDE Motorsport), +6.947s
7. Daniel Rowbottom (Team Pyro), +7.201s
8. Michael Epps (Matrix Motorsport), +8.657s
9. Bradley Burns (Team Pyro), +8.775s
10. Jade Edwards (MRM), +15.268s
Fastest lap: Dorlin, 1m34.589s (avg. 84.72mph)
CLICK HERE for full result.