While Team Pyro is edging ever closer another Renault UK Clio Cup Entrants Trophy, there is still plenty to watch behind in the excitement for runner-up spot with Team Cooksport and WDE Motorsport closing dramatically on the suddenly absent SV Racing…
  • hand-05.jpg

Charlie Ladell’s move back to WDE at Knockhill – ironically from Cooksport – immediately resulted in the team’s highest two entrants’ scores of the season. His two sixths plus team leader Paul Rivett’s second and third place results have now brought WDE to within just three points of third-placed Cooksport whose tally at Knockhill was boosted significantly in both races by returnee Lee Pattison adding to Rory Collingbourne’s and George Jackson’s results.

Both Cooksport and WDE are now within 60 points of overhauling SVR for second in the table. And if they can continue to gather scores at the next two events similar to those achieved at Knockhill – 67and 89 respectively – then there is every chance they will be fighting for that runners-up position come the season finale at Brands Hatch in October.

Similarly the scrap for fifth in the Entrants Trophy standings intensified at Knockhill. 20Ten Racing still holds the position thanks to new signing Jack Mitchell’s efforts at the Scottish circuit but its advantage over sixth-placed JamSport is now down to just nine points after Dan Holland and Tom Grundy both scored well north of the border.

Meanwhile Ant Whorton-Eales opened his new team Maximum Motorsport’s account at Knockhill after switching from SVR which stole the crown from Pyro last year.

Pyro, though, is surely now on course for its sixth Entrants Trophy in seven years (to add to those from 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013) after Ash Hand and Ashley Sutton (pictured above left) gave it a tally of 117 at Knockhill. It is now 270 ahead of Cooksport with a possible maximum of 360 (60 x 6) still to be had...