Young wins & takes championship lead after last lap collision with Coates

Jack Young has provisionally taken victory in Sunday’s Renault UK Clio Cup round at Thruxton following a controversial final corner collision with Max Coates who failed to finish the race.
  • 03.jpg (6)
  • 05.jpg
  • 06.jpg

Coates was leading on the entry to the Club Chicane but Young tried forcing his way past on the inside and their cars made contact.

Live on ITV4, Coates was sent spinning into barriers while Young was able to continue with debris attached to the front of his car to cross the line ahead of the following Ethan Hammerton who took second.

Jamie Bond was third in spite of his car’s front bumper missing following an earlier incident (after contact with Jade Edwards he’d clobbered a tyre stack at the chicane, triggering the second of two safety car periods).

Ultimately, Edwards perhaps felt unlucky not to be on the podium. She and Ben Colburn – pressuring eventual runner-up Hammerton – both span at high speed exiting Church when the latter lost control of his car…

Their hair-raising excursion enabled Tyler Lidsey (on his debut weekend) and Luke Warr to come through for fourth and fifth positions. Edwards and Colburn, who had led the race at one stage(!), eventually recovered to cross the line in sixth and seventh…

Meanwhile Coates car was forced to abandon his damaged car, meaning a second retirement this season for him.

It also means he has lost the championship lead to Young heading to the next two rounds at the Knockhill circuit in Fife in mid-September.

Young, who also set the race’s fastest lap, will go there 24 points clear of Coates at the top of the table.

Similarly, Bond’s third place today has moved him up to third in the standings ahead of Brett Lidsey who was another to retire following an incident at Goodwood corner which also accounted for Finlay Robinson and caused the first safety car period.

Provisional Result, (Round 12), Thruxton:
1. Jack Young (MRM), 15 laps in 23m58.205s (avg. 88.46mph)
2. Ethan Hammerton (Team HARD), +3.561s
3. Jamie Bond (Team HARD), +7.216s
4. Tyler Lidsey (MRM), +10.882s
5. Luke Warr (Specialized Motorsport), +11.669s
6. Jade Edwards (Team HARD), +12.597s
7. Ben Colburn (Westbourne Motorsport), +15.210s
DNF Max Coates, +1 lap
DNF Brett Lidsey (MRM), +9 laps
DNF Finlay Robinson (Westbourne Motorsport), +10 laps
Fastest lap: Young, 1m23.864s (101.13mph)
CLICK HERE for full result, lap chart & sector/speed trap analysis etc.